You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.
Up

Coming out of nowhere, the coronavirus pandemic has swept away many jobs in the restaurant, tourism, construction, and international transport businesses. Yet, not everyone who found themselves unemployed was not afraid of change. A project called "Local support for economic development in Belarus" has provided these individuals with the opportunity to learn something new and find themselves a job.

“Local support of economic development in Belarus" is supported by the European Union as part of its EU4Business Initiative and being implemented by UNDP in partnership with the Ministry of Economy of Belarus.

At the end of 2019, a support center for agro ecological enterprises was set up in Berezovsky District in Brest Oblast. This initiative by the Vysokovskiy Ecological and Ethnographic Center has helped seven individuals who lost their jobs during the pandemic start a new business.

Canadian blackberries and viburnum

Before the pandemic, Sergei Strok worked for a construction company in Russia. When the borders closed and business stopped, this adventurous resident of Bereza did not lose heart but launched an agro-ecological business in his hometown. Sergei says that he has loved digging in the ground ever since he was a child living in the countryside in a big family—five siblings. When the opportunity to do something that he enjoyed presented itself, Sergei planted 300 Canadian blackberry bushes in his garden.

The Nikolaychuk family from Beloozersk sold household appliances before the COVID-19 pandemic—but they took the situation in stride. When the flow of customers dried up and supplies stopped, Andrey and Lyudmila decided to start afresh. The couple is convinced that they can build a farming business even on a tiny piece of land. They planted 25 bushes of medicinal viburnum, and have plans to harvest and sell pumpkin seeds and rosehips.

Support at all levels: From seeds to sales

Assistance under the initiative can be granted to anyone, from teenagers and large families to retirees and people with disabilities. There are two main criteria: the recipient must be willing to engage in an agro-ecological business and they must have some land suitable for farming in the Berezovsky District. Start-uppers can leave the rest to the coordinators of the initiative. The Center offers a series of workshops on farming technologies, principles of sustainable plant cultivation, sales and financial literacy. To date, more than 60 individuals have attended such workshops. After the training, the newly-minted farmers receive seeds and seedlings, and after harvesting they get assistance in processing and selling products.

“We want to establish a recognizable brand of eco-friendly products so that residents feel proud of their area and contribute to the development of a green economy,” says project coordinator Galina Yaroshchuk“At any time, even if there’s a pandemic and quarantine, people should continue to take steps to reach their goals every day.”

Providing support to help develop businesses in the regions is one of the objectives of this project in Belarus. Over the past year, 11 innovative proposals have received financial support, including business support centers, technology parks, mobilizers, and accelerators. Now they are busy making their plans come true.

Latest Success stories
14.05.2021
The EU Project helped a local business club in Belarus go to a new level, turning from informal community of entrepreneurs to an official business support centre in just one year.
29.04.2021
SvetaSlava is a Belarusian family farming business with ambitious plans to expand and minimize costs through the advisory support of the Tramplin Business Center. It is supported by the EU as part of its EU4Business initiative.
29.04.2021
The idea that “together we can move mountains” served the Maxavto service station in Maladzečna very well indeed: not only did they improve their service level, but also benefited local residents. How? By promoting the concept that you can bike when you can’t drive.

Cookies
This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more
I refuse cookies
I accept cookies

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.
Вверх

Пандемия коронавируса пришла внезапно и лишила работы многих людей – работников общепита, туризма, строительства и международных перевозок. Но не тех, кто не боится изменений. А проект «Поддержка экономического развития на местном уровне в Республике Беларусь» предоставил таким энтузиастам возможность найти работу и обучиться чему-то новому.

Проект «Поддержка экономического развития на местном уровне в Республике Беларусь» финансируется Европейским союзом в рамках инициативы EU4Business и реализуется ПРООН в партнерстве с Министерством экономики Республики Беларусь.

При поддержке инициативы ЕС EU4Business в конце 2019 года в Березовском районе Брестской области началась реализации инициативы по созданию Центра поддержки агроэкопредпринимательства. Инициатива социально-культурного учреждения "Высоковский эколого-этнографический центр» помогла семи людям оставшимся без работы во время пандемии, начать новый бизнес.

Вместо стройки – канадская ежевика, а вместо бытовой техники – кусты калины

Сергей Строк до пандемии работал в компании, которая занималась строительством в России. С закрытием границ бизнес остановился, но предприимчивый житель города Береза не растерялся и решил заняться агроэкобизнесом у себя на родине. Сергей рассказывает, что любит возиться в земле с раннего детства, когда жил в большой деревенской семье, где было шесть детей. А тут подвернулась прекрасная возможность заниматься чем-то для души, и предприниматель высадил на своем огороде 300 кустов канадской ежевики.

Не растерялась и семья Николайчук из Белоозерска, которые до COVID-19 торговали бытовой техникой. Когда поток покупателей иссяк, а поставки приостановились, Андрей и Людмила решила попробовать что-то новое. Пара уверена: даже на небольшом участке можно строить агробизнес. Они высадили 25 кустов лекарственной калины, а в будущем планируют заняться еще и тыквой с шиповником – для заготовки и продажи.

Помощь на всех этапах: от предоставления семян до сбыта продукции

Помощь в рамках инициативы могут получить абсолютно разные люди: от подростков и многодетных семей до людей с ограниченными возможностями и пенсионеров. Главное – желание заниматься агроэкобизнесом и наличие участка земли в Березовском районе. Все остальное начинающим предпринимателям предоставляют координаторы инициативы. Для начала проводится обучение по вопросам агротехнологий, принципам экологичного выращивания растений, продаж и финансовой грамотности. Такое обучение на сегодняшний день прошли более 60 человек. После обучения начинающие аграрии получили семена и саженцы растений, а после сбора урожая – помощь в переработке и продаже продукции.

«Мы хотим создать узнаваемый бренд экопродукции, чтобы жители ощутили гордость за свой район и внесли вклад в развитие зеленой экономики. В любое время, даже в условиях пандемии и самоизоляции, нужно каждый день делать шаги, ведущие к цели», - считает координатор проекта Галина Ярощук.

Укрепление и развитие бизнеса в регионах – одно из направлений работы проекта в Беларуси. За последний год финансовую поддержку в стране получили 11 инновационных субъектов, включая центры поддержки предпринимательства, технопарки, мобилизаторы и акселераторы. Сейчас они активно реализуют намеченные планы.

Недавние успешные истории
02.10.2020
Программа поддержки женского предпринимательства «Женщины в бизнесе» Европейского банка реконструкции и развития (ЕБРР) и инициативы Евросоюза EU4Business помогла предпринимательнице из Беларуси увеличить продажи на 80% и сделать свою компанию более узнаваемой.
16.06.2020
Сейчас бренд женской одежды Nelva насчитывает 250 сотрудников, 14 магазинов и тысячи поклонников по Беларуси, России и Украине.
17.11.2019
История белорусского бренда одежды Mark Formelle показывает: успех приходит к самым смелым.