You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.
Up

When they first began working, Lyudmila and Svetlana Golovko worked in their professional fields. For 12 years, Lyudmila worked at the local library, while Svetlana ran needlework groups at local preschools. Still, as health problems emerged, their workplaces were shut down. The COVID-19 pandemic severely affected their business activities and the sisters were left completely jobless.

Still, they never managed to get bored. Just at that time, the Centre for Agro-Eco-Entrepreneurship launched by UNDP and the Ministry of Economy of Belarus with the support of the EU’s EU4Business initiative opened its doors in Bereza. Staff at the Centre proposed that the Golovkos begin creative work at home: making souvenirs.

To support the start-up, the sisters were provided with high-tech sewing and embroidery machines. Learning to use the new technology was not that easy, but the women soon saw good results. Their products are distinguished for their high quality and have become very popular in Bereza and beyond.

Today, the sisters Lyudmila and Svyetlana produce creative eco-friendly shopping bags in natural cotton and linen with stylish embroidery. The girls make sure that every bag is practical for everyday use while travelling or shopping. Moreover, using these multi-use bags helps protect the environment against single-use plastic bags.

The Golovko sisters plan to make their business better known, to increase sales and, without stopping at what they have already achieved, to expand their business further.“The main advantage of ecobags is that they are strong and lasting,” says Svetlana. “Fabric doesn’t tear and can hold as much as 3-4 plastic bags. And it’s economic on top of that. Shops don’t hand out plastic bags for free. A family of three is likely to spend more than BYR 40 a year on disposable bags, while our ecobag costs 18 roubles. Besides, you save more than just your own money, but taxpayer money spent on collecting and disposing of garbage, too.”

According to a UNDP study entitled “Assessing the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on SMEs in Belarus,” eight out of 10 SMEs in the country have felt the negative impact of the pandemic. Businesses involving women have been hardest hit because women in Belarus are mainly employed in the service sector, those industries that are most vulnerable to the pandemic and its consequences: tourism, retail sales and food services. Moreover, women were burdened with additional responsibilities during the pandemic: caring for sick relatives and looking after children who were unable to go to school. The study also found that businesses run by women were more likely to be denied financing by banks.

The UNDP has been working together with the European Union and national and local partners in the regions, developing pilot projects to support and develop SMEs in the face of COVID-19. Fostering local business ideas and helping bring them to life helps generate new jobs and strengthen the resilience of local communities.

The Centre for Agro-Eco-Entrepreneurship in Bereza County, Brest Oblast is one of 10 Business Support Centres open under the “Support for local economic development (LED) in Belarus” project being carried out by UNDP in partnership with the Belarus Ministry of Economy and funded by the European Union under the EU4Business initiative.

Latest Success stories
by
22.02.2022
A knitwear factory in Belarus has partnered with luxury clothing brands through the “Ready to Trade - an EU4Business Initiative” project, allowing this small country to boast knitwear that meets all European quality standards.
by
08.02.2022
Currently only 6% of all administrative procedures related to doing business in Belarus can be carried out online. To complete the remaining 94%, Belarusian firms have to physically visit various government agencies.
by
28.12.2021
Nadezhda Abashina is the owner of one of the first private farms in Belarus. She says the impact of global warming on Belarusian farmers is quite visible.

Cookies
This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more
I refuse cookies
I accept cookies

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.
Вверх

До начала занятия бизнесом Людмила и Светлана Головко работали по профессии. Людмила 12 лет отработала в местной библиотеке, а Светлана вела кружки рукоделия в дошкольных учреждениях. Однако, в силу возникших проблем со здоровьем работу пришлось прекратить. Пандемия COVID-19 сильно повлияла на их деловую активность, и сестры остались полностью без работы.

Однако, заскучать они не успели. Как раз в это время в Березе начал свою работу Центр Поддержки Агро-Эко-Предпринимательства, созданный Программой развития ООН (ПРООН) и Министерством экономики Республики Беларусь при поддержке Европейского союза в рамках инициативы EU4Business. В Центре Головко предложили творческую работу на дому – производить сувенирную продукцию.

В качестве поддержки старта бизнеса сестры получили высокотехнологичные швейные и вышивальные машины. Освоить новую современную технику было непросто, однако, женщины добились хороших результатов. Сегодня их продукция, отличающаяся высоким качеством, пользуется популярностью в Березе и за ее пределами. 

Продукция творческого бизнеса сестер Людмилы и Светланы Головко – оригинальные экологические сумки из натуральных хлопка и льна со стильной вышивкой. Девушки заботятся, чтобы каждая сумка была практичной для ежедневного использования – в поездках, в походах в магазин. Использование многоразовых сумок из натуральных материалов помогает защитить окружающую среду от одноразового пластика.

«Главное преимущество экосумки — прочность и долговечность. Тканевая сумка не рвется, вмещает в себя столько же, сколько три-четыре пластиковых пакета, — говорит Светлана Головко. — Еще одно преимущество — экономичность. Магазины не раздают пакеты бесплатно. Семья из трех человек за год тратит на одноразовые пакеты более 40 белорусских рублей. Экосумку можно купить за 18 рублей. Сэкономить можно не только собственные деньги, но и деньги налогоплательщиков, которые идут на уборку и утилизацию мусора».

В планах сестер Головко – сделать свой бизнес еще более известным, увеличить продажи, не останавливаться на достигнутом, развивать свой бизнес дальше.

Согласно исследованию ПРООН «Оценка воздействия пандемии COVID-19 на малый и средний бизнес Беларуси», восемь из десяти компаний малого и среднего бизнеса в Беларуси ощутили на себе негативное влияние пандемии COVID-19. Наиболее сильно пострадал бизнес с участием женщин. Это связано с тем, что женщины в Беларуси в основном заняты в сфере услуг в отраслях, наиболее уязвимых для пандемии и ее последствий: туризм, розничная торговля, общественное питание. Кроме того, в период пандемии женщины столкнулись с дополнительными обязанностями по уходу за заболевшими родственниками и присмотру за не посещающими образовательные учреждения детьми. Исследование также показало, что бизнес, возглавляемый женщинами, чаще сталкивался с отказом в получении банковского финансирования.

ПРООН совместно с Европейским союзом работает с национальными и местными партнерами в регионах, пилотирует решения по поддержке и развитию малого и среднего бизнеса условиях COVID-19. Поддержка местных бизнес-идей и помощь в их реализации помогает создавать новые рабочие места, повышает жизнестойкость местных сообществ.

Центр Поддержки Агро-Эко-Предпринимательства в Березовском районе, Брестской области один из 10 Центров поддержки предпринимательства, открытых в рамках проекта «Поддержка экономического развития на местном уровне в Республике Беларусь». Проект реализует ПРООН в партнерстве с Министерством экономики Республики Беларусь и финансируется Европейским союзом в рамках инициативы EU4Business.

Недавние успешные истории
by
28.12.2021
О том, как на фермеров Беларуси влияет глобальное потепления и какие в этом плюсы и минусы, мы узнали у Надежды Абашиной, владелицы одного из первых в Беларуси крестьянско-фермерских хозяйств.
by
10.12.2021
Многие из нас были свидетелями, как мусор из переполненного контейнера вываливается и разлетается от порывов ветра по жилому кварталу. Если это случается в выходной, то вы получаете перспективу наблюдать это не один день, потому что мусоровоз не приедет до понедельника.
by
09.12.2021
Юлия Молочко – молодая беларуска, которая родилась и выросла в Брагинском районе Гомельской области – регионе, который сильно пострадал от катастрофы на Чернобыльской АЭС.

Файлы Cookie
Этот сайт использует файлы cookie, чтобы улучшить работу вашу работу в браузере. Узнать больше
Я отказываюсь
Я принимаю