You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.
Up

SvetaSlava is a Belarusian family farming business with ambitious plans to expand and minimize costs through the advisory support of the Tramplin Business Center. It is supported by the EU as part of its EU4Business initiative.

When farming is a vocation

Svetlana and Vyacheslav Talchuk have lived in the village of Veletin, not far from Chojniki in Homieĺ Voblasts, even since they were born. Together, they do what they love most—farming.

The Talchuks put up their first greenhouse about 15 years ago, and since then have been supplying fresh vegetables, not only for their own dinner table, but for sale as well. They decided that if the business succeeded, they would call it SvetaSlava, a combination of the couple’s nicknames.

“We helped our parents when we were kids, and then our children helped us,” recalls Svetlana Talchuk. “My son was 4 when he got curious about the greenhouse. He watered the plants himself and tried to bring water in buckets. When we bought drip irrigation equipment, he was more excited than some kids are over candies.”

Today, the couple has two large greenhouses and a small one. They grow cucumbers, tomatoes, peppers, cabbage, and many other vegetables. There are two nurseries nearby that supply seedlings for the gardens. There is also an orchard with 500 apple, apricot, cherry and pear trees. In addition to these, the farm has 1,000 bushes of blueberries, raspberries and strawberries, and a potato field. There are even watermelons and melons that are untypical for Belarus, not to mention white eggplants—without exaggeration, unique to the region.

For a long time, the Chojniki area was contaminated after the Chernobyl accident, and had become one of the most depressed and environmentally unsafe regions of Belarus. Today, most of the territory has been cleared for use, although soil samples in some areas are still being tested for radiation. There are also bans on picking mushrooms and berries in the wild.

“By law, we are obliged to check only the nitrate levels in our products, but we also do a radiation analysis,” Svetlana explains. “We provide product samples to get clearance certificates, and we have always passed every test.”

Now, with their son in the army and their daughter living in Moscow, the expanding farm needs a hand. SvetaSlava has become difficult to manage and the costs keep climbing.

“Our relatives who live nearby help us out,” says Svetlana. “During the high season, we also hire a few contractors. It takes a lot of investment, but the returns aren’t always there. We buy expensive Dutch seeds and the germination rate is almost 100%. We spend a lot on stove heating and electricity in the greenhouses, and on water for irrigation. After all, seedlings need to get light around the clock. Sometimes we get call asking about our utility bills: ‘Is this a mistake or do you really owe that much?’ Overall, farming is not the most profitable business, but we enjoy it. And thanks to the initiative, we hope to increase our profits.”

What helps the business thrive are specialized courses and work with experts offering practical advice: where and how to look for customers, how to increase sales, including online, and more. Svetlana and Vyacheslav learned how to make presentations, they are mastering video filming and, together with the specialists, they are developing their SvetaSlava brand.

Reduce water in the vegetables and losses in the business

SvetaSlava farm produce is sold in Chojniki and nearby towns: Brahin, Homieĺ, Rečyca , and neighboring villages. Plans are to access new markets, launch a delivery service, and explore new business directions.

“We’ve long been wondering how to deal with unsold stock, because it’s hard to predict demand,” Svetlana explains. “For example, in early spring, everyone buys cucumbers, but by mid-summer many people already have their own. And while we can make pickles from cucumbers and tomatoes, surplus apples or berries are simply wasted. In fact, even vegetables can be dried for soups and broths. An air oven can solve this problem: our work will not be wasted, and the produce will maintain vitamins for the winter. Right now, though, we can’t afford an air oven.”

The Tramplin Business Center helps businesses like SvetaSlava to make their dream come true. As a part of a wider team, the couple applied to compete in the project for socially significant initiatives and was selected for funding. Their initiative is called “Berry Land” and is based on cooperation among farmers. Every project participant has different needs: greenhouses, irrigation equipment, and even a freezer.

“Soon we’ll be able buy our air oven and a new walk-behind tractor,” says Svetlana with a big smile.

The Tramplin Business Center is an initiative that supports SMEs in Belarus’s Homieĺ oblast as part of the Local  Economic Development in Belarus Project. The project is financed by the European Union within the framework of the EU4Business initiative and implemented by UNDP in partnership with the Ministry of Economy of Belarus.

Latest Success stories
by
14.05.2021
The EU Project helped a local business club in Belarus go to a new level, turning from informal community of entrepreneurs to an official business support centre in just one year.
by
29.04.2021
The idea that “together we can move mountains” served the Maxavto service station in Maladzečna very well indeed: not only did they improve their service level, but also benefited local residents. How? By promoting the concept that you can bike when you can’t drive.
by
20.04.2021
Natalia Strok, Director of the Vysokovsky Ecological and Ethnographic Center, a social and cultural institution in Belarus, starts her day very early: she answers calls from partners and clients whom she advises over the phone, and goes to their secondary plots, delivering seedlings, seeds and equipment.

Cookies
This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more
I refuse cookies
I accept cookies

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.
Вверх

«СветаСлава» – белорусский семейный бизнес, который расширяется и минимизирует расходы с помощью консультаций центра поддержки предпринимательства «Трамплин». Помощь центру оказывает Европейский союз в рамках инициативы EU4Business.

Когда заниматься земледелием — не работа, а призвание

Светлана и Вячеслав Тальчук с самого рождения живут в деревне Велетин, расположенной недалеко от г. Хойники (Гомельская область Беларуси), и занимаются тем, что искренне любят — грядками. Первая теплица появилась у них около 15 лет назад. С тех пор овощи стали идти не только в семью, но и на продажу. Тогда же решили — если бизнес пойдет, его назовут по-семейному: «СветаСлава».

«В детстве мы помогали своим родителям, а потом нам помогали наши дети. Сыну было 4 года, когда он начал работать с нами в теплице. Все поливал сам, таскал воду ведрами. Когда мы купили капельный полив, у него было больше радости, чем у других детей от покупки конфет», — вспоминает Светлана Тальчук.

Сейчас у семейной пары две большие теплицы и одна маленькая. В них растут огурцы, помидоры, перцы, капуста и многие другие овощи, по соседству стоят два рассадника, из которых рассаду продают людям для своих огородов. Есть свой сад: 500 яблонь, абрикосы, вишни, груши. В дополнение к ним — тысяча кустов голубики, малина и клубника, а также поле картофеля. И даже непривычные для Беларуси арбузы с дынями есть, не говоря уже об уникальных для области белых баклажанах.

Хойники долгое время считались не только одним из наиболее депрессивных регионов, но и не самой безопасной с точки зрения экологии территорией из-за последствий аварии на ЧАЭС. Сейчас статус «опасной» с большей части территории сняли, хотя кое-где в районах до сих пор берут пробы грунта на наличие радиации, также существуют запреты на сбор грибов и ягод.

«По правилам, сейчас мы обязаны проверять свою продукцию только на отсутствие нитратов, но мы делаем еще и анализ на радиацию. Для этого берут пробы продукции и выдают нам справки. За все время ни разу не нашли ничего плохого», — говорит Светлана.

Теперь сын в армии, а дочь живет в Москве и посещать родителей может нечасто. Хозяйство расширяется, и вести его стало тяжело. Да и расходы нужно как-то уменьшить.

«Нам помогают родственники, которые живут рядом, но в разгар сезона мы также нанимаем несколько работников по договору. Вложений много, а отдача бывает не всегда. Мы закупаем голландские семена, они дорогие, но и всхожесть почти 100%. Много тратим на печное отопление и электроэнергию в теплицах, воду для полива. Рассаду ведь нужно подсвечивать круглые сутки. Иногда нам даже перезванивают коммунальщики и спрашивают: «А вы не ошиблись, у вас действительно столько израсходовано?». Да и в целом, сельское хозяйство — не самая прибыльная сфера, но мы получаем от этого удовольствие. А благодаря поддержке ЕС надеемся увеличить доходность своего сельскохозяйственного бизнеса».

Помогает в этом участие в образовательных курсах и работа с экспертами, которые дают много полезных советов: где и как искать клиентов, как увеличивать продажи, в том числе через интернет. Светлана и Вячеслав научились делать презентации, осваивают видеосъемку и вместе со специалистами развивают свой бренд «СветаСлава».

В планах — сушить остатки овощей и ягод и уменьшить этим убытки

Продукция хозяйства «СветаСлава» продается в самих Хойниках и районах поблизости — Брагине, Гомеле, Речице и близлежащих деревнях. В планах — освоение новых рынков, прием заказов с осуществлением доставки и развитие новых направлений деятельности.

«Давно назрел вопрос — что делать с непроданной продукцией? Не всегда ведь можно угадать, на что будет спрос, а что не распродастся. Например, ранней весной огурцы нужны всем, а летом у многих людей уже и свои есть. Но если из огурцов и помидоров мы можем сделать закатки, то яблоки или ягоды просто пропадают.  Да и обычные овощи ведь можно засушить для бульонов. Проблему может решить сушильный шкаф: и труд не пропадет, и продукты останутся кладезем витаминов на зиму. Сами купить это мы не можем — слишком дорогое удовольствие», — говорит Светлана.

Воплотить мечту помогает центр поддержки предпринимательства «Трамплин», который финансируется ЕС. Благодаря ему семья стала частью команды, подавшей заявку на конкурс инициатив по развитию предпринимательства. Идею под названием «Ягодный край», которая должна скооперировать сельских производителей, поддержали. У каждого из участников — свои потребности. Одним нужны теплицы, другим – оборудование для полива, а третьим — морозильная камера.

«А мы совсем скоро сможем приобрести и сушильный шкаф, и новый мотоблок»,— делится радостной новостью Светлана.

Центр поддержки предпринимательства «Трамплин» – это инициатива, которая в рамках проекта «Поддержка экономического развития на местном уровне в Республике Беларусь» помогает малому и среднему бизнесу Хойникского района (Гомельская область Беларуси). Проект финансирует Европейский союз в рамках инициативы EU4Business и реализует ПРООН в партнёрстве с Минэкономики Беларуси.

Недавние успешные истории
by
14.05.2021
Проект Европейского союза помог за год вывести клуб местных бизнесменов на новый уровень – от неформального сообщества предпринимателей до официального центра поддержки предпринимательства.
by
29.04.2021
Cовместными усилиями можно свернуть горы. И станция техобслуживания «Максавто» в г. Молодечно фактически сделала это, не только улучшив качество работы на СТО, но и принеся пользу жителям города.
by
20.04.2021
У Натальи Строк, директора социально-культурного учреждения «Высоковский эколого-этнографический центр» в Березовском районе, день начинается очень рано.

Файлы Cookie
Этот сайт использует файлы cookie, чтобы улучшить работу вашу работу в браузере. Узнать больше
Я отказываюсь
Я принимаю